Texarkana, TX 75° Fri H 88° L 71° Sat H 85° L 69° Sun H 88° L 72° Weather Sponsored By:

OMAHOGS: Arkansas routs Ole Miss to advance to 10th CWS

OMAHOGS: Arkansas routs Ole Miss to advance to 10th CWS

Razorbacks to play Florida State

June 10th, 2019 by Scottie Bordelon and Matt Jones / Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette in College Sports

Arkansas pitcher Patrick Wicklander throws against Mississippi during the first inning of Game 3 at an NCAA college baseball super regional tournament Monday, June 10, 2019, in Fayetteville, Ark.

Photo by Associated Press

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — For the first time in program history, Arkansas is going to the College World Series in consecutive seasons.

The No. 5 Razorbacks became the eighth and final team to punch a ticket to this year's College World Series with a resounding 14-1 victory over No. 18 Ole Miss in front of 10,092 at Baum-Walker Stadium.

Arkansas (46-18) advanced to Omaha from its home field for the first time since 2004 and second season in a row. The Razorbacks will play Florida State either Saturday or Sunday at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb.

Game dates and start times for the College World Series will be announced tonight at 10 p.m.

Arkansas is going to Omaha for the 10th time in program history. The Razorbacks are going for the sixth time under 17th-year head coach Dave Van Horn, who has coached eight teams to the College World Series since 2001.

Van Horn's eight appearances are second to Florida State's Mike Martin (17) among active head coaches.

In a series full of blowouts, Arkansas delivered the final blow with several big swings Monday. The Razorbacks scored four runs in the second inning, three in the third and five in the sixth to squash any opportunity at an Ole Miss comeback.

Casey Opitz's two-run home run capped the Razorbacks' sixth inning and put Arkansas ahead 14-1.

Ole Miss (41-27) scored first on Cooper Johnson's two-out RBI single in the top of the first inning, but the Rebels barely threatened the rest of the way.

Arkansas reliever Cody Scroggins earned his third victory with a 4 1/3-inning outing that came after starter Patrick Wicklander recorded just five outs.

Scroggins inherited runners on second and third base with two outs in the second inning, but struck out Ryan Olenek on a 3-2 fastball to end the top of the second inning and keep the Razorbacks within 1-0.

Arkansas took the lead in the bottom half of the inning. Opitz had an RBI single to tie the game, Jacob Nesbit followed with an RBI double to give the Razorbacks the lead and Trevor Ezell's two-run single extended the lead to 4-1.

Heston Kjerstad and Opitz both had RBI hits in the third inning to put Arkansas ahead 7-1 and chase Ole Miss starter Gunnar Hoglund, a freshman right hander who allowed 6 runs on 5 hits.

Christian Franklin scored on a passed ball in the fourth inning and Kjerstad hit a 396-foot home run to right field in the fifth to put the Razorbacks ahead 9-1.

From there it was a multi-hour party for the big home crowd as they could sense Omaha was in reach. The fans erupted at every opportunity, including two great defensive plays in the top of the eighth inning - a double play started by Casey Martin and a tag out at home plate on a great throw from center fielder Dominic Fletcher to end the inning.

The Razorbacks finished with 12 hits to bring the three-game series total to 35. They scored 30 runs against the Rebels.

Arkansas evened the season series with Ole Miss at four games apiece. The Rebels won a regular-season series at Baum-Walker Stadium in March and the teams split two games at the SEC Tournament last month.

The Razorbacks improved to 33-7 in games at home this year, one shy of last season's record for home wins in a single season.

Arkansas players customarily dog-piled at the end of the game but the super regional victory was just another step in a season-long quest for redemption after the Razorbacks came within one out of winning the national championship last season.

In Omaha, Arkansas will be the second-highest-seeded team in the field, and the highest seed in its quadrant that will include Florida State, Texas Tech and Michigan. The Seminoles and Wolverines were two of the final four teams admitted as at-large teams to this year's NCAA Tournament, but advanced to the College World Series with road victories in regionals and super regionals.

Texas Tech was the No. 8 national seed in the tournament.

On the other side of the bracket in Omaha will be three national seeds - No. 2 Vanderbilt, No. 6 Mississippi State and No. 7 Louisville, along with Auburn.

Arkansas improved to 4-0 in super regionals played in Fayetteville. The Razorbacks defeated Florida State in 2004, Missouri State in 2015 and South Carolina last season.

Under Van Horn, Arkansas has won six of seven super regionals, with its only super regional series loss coming in 2010 at Arizona State.

Getting Started/Comments Policy

Getting started

  1. 1. If you frequently comment on news websites then you may already have a Disqus account. If so, click the "Login" button at the top right of the comment widget and choose whether you'd rather log in with Facebook, Twitter, Google, or a Disqus account.
  2. 2. If you've forgotten your password, Disqus will email you a link that will allow you to create a new one. Easy!
  3. 3. If you're not a member yet, Disqus will go ahead and register you. It's seamless and takes about 10 seconds.
  4. 4. To register, either go through the login process or just click in the box that says "join the discussion," type your comment, and either choose a social media platform to log you in or create a Disqus account with your email address.
  5. 5. If you use Twitter, Facebook or Google to log in, you will need to stay logged into that platform in order to comment. If you create a Disqus account instead, you'll need to remember your Disqus password. Either way, you can change your display name if you'd rather not show off your real name.
  6. 6. Don't be a huge jerk or do anything illegal, and you'll be fine.

Texarkana Gazette Comments Policy

The Texarkana Gazette web sites include interactive areas in which users can express opinions and share ideas and information. We cannot and do not monitor all of the material submitted to the website. Additionally, we do not control, and are not responsible for, content submitted by users. By using the web sites, you may be exposed to content that you may find offensive, indecent, inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise objectionable. You agree that you must evaluate, and bear all risks associated with, the use of the Gazette web sites and any content on the Gazette web sites, including, but not limited to, whether you should rely on such content. Notwithstanding the foregoing, you acknowledge that we shall have the right (but not the obligation) to review any content that you have submitted to the Gazette, and to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content that we determine, in our sole discretion, (a) does not comply with the terms and conditions of this agreement; (b) might violate any law, infringe upon the rights of third parties, or subject us to liability for any reason; or (c) might adversely affect our public image, reputation or goodwill. Moreover, we reserve the right to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content at any time, for the reasons set forth above, for any other reason, or for no reason. If you believe that any content on any of the Gazette web sites infringes upon any copyrights that you own, please contact us pursuant to the procedures outlined in the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (Title 17 U.S.C. § 512) at the following address:

Copyright Agent
The Texarkana Gazette
15 Pine Street
Texarkana, TX 75501
Phone: 903-794-3311
Email: webeditor@texarkanagazette.com