Texarkana, TX 49° View Live Radar Wed H 55° L 46° Thu H 53° L 40° Fri H 56° L 38° Weather Sponsored By:

Committee to study solutions for jail

Committee to study solutions for jail

Group will consider problems of Little River County prison housing

February 11th, 2018 by Jim Williamson in Texarkana News

A 38-member committee has been appointed to study the operation of the Little River County, Ark., jail and make suggestions to keep the jail open, said Little River County Judge Mike Cranford.

Sterling Penix, a member of the Arkansas Criminal Detention Facilities Review Committee, suggested the county appoint a review committee to prepare options to improve housing of Little River County prisoners.

Cranford has heeded Penix's suggestion.

"We're going to study the problem, and we're looking for the best options to operate the jail for the next 30 years," Cranford said.

The county has to "farm out" the prisoners to other counties, Cranford said.

The deadline to list options will be December 2019, he said.

"We can't send prisoners home. We also have to have a staff to operate the jail," Cranford said.

The committee will aim for long-term solutions.

"In no way will we suggest tax increases. Twice the voters rejected using a sales tax to improve the jail. We heard what the voters said," Cranford said.

"The committee will have a variety of backgrounds. Some will be liberal some will be conservative. By a variety of views, we will come to a good solution," he said.

The meetings will be open to the public, and the meeting dates will be announced.

The 38-member committee includes:

  • Judge Charles A. Yeargan
  • Judge Tom Cooper
  • Judge John C. Finley III
  • Judge Mike Cranford
  • Sheriff Bobby Walraven
  • LRC Jail Administrator Gina Butler
  • Mayor James Sutton
  • Ashdown Police Chief Boyd Kennemore
  • Prosecuting Attorney Bryan Chesshir
  • Deputy Prosecuting Attorney Al Smith
  • Public Defender Clayton Tinkes
  • Public Defender Mickey Buchanan
  • Donald Cook
  • Daniel Linnett
  • Ricky Fawcett
  • Jeff Sikes
  • David Day
  • Denise Riley
  • Kelly Krause
  • Anthony Nelson
  • Tommy McDonald
  • Morris Johnson
  • Joe Mac Bennett
  • Tim Turk
Getting Started/Comments Policy

Getting started

  1. 1. If you frequently comment on news websites then you may already have a Disqus account. If so, click the "Login" button at the top right of the comment widget and choose whether you'd rather log in with Facebook, Twitter, Google, or a Disqus account.
  2. 2. If you've forgotten your password, Disqus will email you a link that will allow you to create a new one. Easy!
  3. 3. If you're not a member yet, Disqus will go ahead and register you. It's seamless and takes about 10 seconds.
  4. 4. To register, either go through the login process or just click in the box that says "join the discussion," type your comment, and either choose a social media platform to log you in or create a Disqus account with your email address.
  5. 5. If you use Twitter, Facebook or Google to log in, you will need to stay logged into that platform in order to comment. If you create a Disqus account instead, you'll need to remember your Disqus password. Either way, you can change your display name if you'd rather not show off your real name.
  6. 6. Don't be a huge jerk or do anything illegal, and you'll be fine.

Texarkana Gazette Comments Policy

The Texarkana Gazette web sites include interactive areas in which users can express opinions and share ideas and information. We cannot and do not monitor all of the material submitted to the website. Additionally, we do not control, and are not responsible for, content submitted by users. By using the web sites, you may be exposed to content that you may find offensive, indecent, inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise objectionable. You agree that you must evaluate, and bear all risks associated with, the use of the Gazette web sites and any content on the Gazette web sites, including, but not limited to, whether you should rely on such content. Notwithstanding the foregoing, you acknowledge that we shall have the right (but not the obligation) to review any content that you have submitted to the Gazette, and to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content that we determine, in our sole discretion, (a) does not comply with the terms and conditions of this agreement; (b) might violate any law, infringe upon the rights of third parties, or subject us to liability for any reason; or (c) might adversely affect our public image, reputation or goodwill. Moreover, we reserve the right to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content at any time, for the reasons set forth above, for any other reason, or for no reason. If you believe that any content on any of the Gazette web sites infringes upon any copyrights that you own, please contact us pursuant to the procedures outlined in the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (Title 17 U.S.C. § 512) at the following address:

Copyright Agent
The Texarkana Gazette
15 Pine Street
Texarkana, TX 75501
Phone: 903-794-3311
Email: webeditor@texarkanagazette.com