Texarkana, TX 74° Fri H 89° L 68° Sat H 88° L 70° Sun H 91° L 70° Weather Sponsored By:

Texarkana Rotary Club honors area teachers

Texarkana Rotary Club honors area teachers

April 26th, 2019 by Jennifer Middleton in Texarkana News

Johnny Key, commissioner of Education for the Arkansas Department of Education, speaks Thursday at the Texarkana Rotary Clubs' 26th annual Cecil Phillips Teacher Appreciation luncheon at Williams Memorial United Methodist Church on Thursday, April 25, 2019, in Texarkana, Texas. At the luncheon, school district superintendents recognized teachers and announced the 2019 district teacher awards.

Photo by Hunt Mercier /Texarkana Gazette.

Texarkana teachers were honored Thursday during the Texarkana Rotary Clubs' 26th Annual Cecil Phillips Teacher Appreciation Luncheon.

Rotary International's theme for 2018-19 is "Rotary: Be the Inspiration" and guest speaker Johnny Key, the commissioner of education for the Arkansas Department of Education built upon that theme and spoke about the teachers who inspired him through his educational career. He also commended Texarkana's teachers on remaining an inspiration in the classroom.

"Our society today is requiring our students to be nimble, where they can go and seek that career option and also seek the college of their choice," he said. "We want them to be ready, engaged, productive citizens. As I heard the descriptions of each of these teachers here today, I know that is what's going on every day in the schools in the Texarkana area. We're not just celebrating you, because when you came up here today, you're representing an army of teachers from your building, your district, your state and your country. You're an inspiration to your students and your colleagues. You inspire the community because this community has made education a priority and celebrate you as teachers. What I would say to you from where I sit at the Department of Education, you inspire me, as well."

Teachers of the Year are as follows:


Liberty-Eylau Independent School District

L-E Early Childhood Center, Jessica Hoover; L-E Elementary, Shakaya Hendricks; L-E Middle School, Connie Green; L-E BAC Campus, Raymond Martinez. Elementary Teacher of the Year, Vickie Davis. Secondary Teacher of the Year, Mende Stiles.


Pleasant Grove Independent School District

PG Elementary School, Rita Rhodes; PG Intermediate School, Venessa Nicklas; PG Middle School, Donna Gibbons; PG High School, Melissa Manning. Teacher of the Year, Donna Gibbons.


Texarkana, Ark., School District

College Hill Elementary, Todd Musgraves; Fairview Elementary, Melissa Arnold; Trice Elementary, Suzanne Weir; Kilpatrick Elementary, Vera Peyton; Union Elementary, Caitlin Love; College Hill Sixth Grade Academy, Shelly Dunn; North Heights Junior High School, Dayton Moore; Arkansas High School, Monica McLelland; Texarkana, Ark. Career and Technological Center, Shannon Hall; Washington Academy Charter School, Kimberly Walker. Teacher of the Year, Juanita Harris.


Texarkana Independent School District

Paul Laurence Dunbar Early Education Center, Tiffany Studebaker; Highland Park Elementary School, Carol Hubbard; Morriss Elementary School, Hilary Stovall; Nash Elementary School, Valerie Tatum; Spring Lake Park Elementary School, Brandi Childs; Theron Jones Early Education Center, Bridget Ivory; Waggoner Creek Elementary School, Kimberlie Starnes; Wake Village Elementary School, Lori Akin; Westlawn Elementary School, Kedrick Jones; Texas Middle School, Debbie Mallett; Texas High School, Jessica Sharp; Academic Alternative High School, Randy Jennings. Elementary Teacher of the Year, Cindy Gore; Secondary Teacher of the Year, Chuck Zach.

Getting Started/Comments Policy

Getting started

  1. 1. If you frequently comment on news websites then you may already have a Disqus account. If so, click the "Login" button at the top right of the comment widget and choose whether you'd rather log in with Facebook, Twitter, Google, or a Disqus account.
  2. 2. If you've forgotten your password, Disqus will email you a link that will allow you to create a new one. Easy!
  3. 3. If you're not a member yet, Disqus will go ahead and register you. It's seamless and takes about 10 seconds.
  4. 4. To register, either go through the login process or just click in the box that says "join the discussion," type your comment, and either choose a social media platform to log you in or create a Disqus account with your email address.
  5. 5. If you use Twitter, Facebook or Google to log in, you will need to stay logged into that platform in order to comment. If you create a Disqus account instead, you'll need to remember your Disqus password. Either way, you can change your display name if you'd rather not show off your real name.
  6. 6. Don't be a huge jerk or do anything illegal, and you'll be fine.

Texarkana Gazette Comments Policy

The Texarkana Gazette web sites include interactive areas in which users can express opinions and share ideas and information. We cannot and do not monitor all of the material submitted to the website. Additionally, we do not control, and are not responsible for, content submitted by users. By using the web sites, you may be exposed to content that you may find offensive, indecent, inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise objectionable. You agree that you must evaluate, and bear all risks associated with, the use of the Gazette web sites and any content on the Gazette web sites, including, but not limited to, whether you should rely on such content. Notwithstanding the foregoing, you acknowledge that we shall have the right (but not the obligation) to review any content that you have submitted to the Gazette, and to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content that we determine, in our sole discretion, (a) does not comply with the terms and conditions of this agreement; (b) might violate any law, infringe upon the rights of third parties, or subject us to liability for any reason; or (c) might adversely affect our public image, reputation or goodwill. Moreover, we reserve the right to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content at any time, for the reasons set forth above, for any other reason, or for no reason. If you believe that any content on any of the Gazette web sites infringes upon any copyrights that you own, please contact us pursuant to the procedures outlined in the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (Title 17 U.S.C. § 512) at the following address:

Copyright Agent
The Texarkana Gazette
15 Pine Street
Texarkana, TX 75501
Phone: 903-794-3311
Email: webeditor@texarkanagazette.com