Texarkana, TX 85° Mon H 85° L 71° Tue H 81° L 70° Wed H 87° L 73° Weather Sponsored By:

Texas HighSteppers named to winner's circle, get top awards

Texas HighSteppers named to winner's circle, get top awards

February 15th, 2019 by Gazette Staff in Texarkana News

The Texas HighSteppers of Texas High School were recently named to the Regional Champion Winner's Circle during the Marching Auxiliaries Rose Capital Regional Competition in Tyler, Texas. Shown are, first row from left: Madison Bowers, Allie Graves, Sarah Grace Boudreaux, Isabelle Robertson and Candra Thompson. Second row: Meredith Green, Madison Brown, Kayla Ebel and Evelyn Patterson. Third row: Endsley Norman, Helen Clark Hays, Emma McMillen, Lily Sewell, Raven Ivory, Briannah Hall, Madison Kennemore, Malley Wallace, Zaria Dunn, Hollan Borowitz, Chloe Page, Olivia Bruggman, Gabby Leon and Kenzie Stevens. Fourth row: Mary Claire Wright, Leila Kinney, Olivia George, Rylee McDuffie, Brooke Knight, Mary Jane Bray, Tatum Haugh, Mallory Hackworth and Morgan Williams. (Submitted photo)

The Texas HighSteppers of Texas High School were named to the Regional Champion Winner's Circle and received numerous top awards during the Marching Auxiliaries Rose Capital Regional Competition in Tyler, TX, on Feb. 9.

Team honors received include: Super Sweepstakes award; Choreography Awards for all four dance routines (pom, military, kick and novelty); Technique awards for all four dance routines; High Point awards for all four dance routines; and Best in Class award. Additionally, the team was named Large Ensemble winner and received an overall third place ranking out of 44 participating teams.

The HighStepper officers brought home the following accolades: Super Sweepstakes award; Technique awards for lyrical, contemporary and jazz routines; Choreography awards for lyrical ans contemporary routine; High Point award for contemporary routine; and Best in Class award.

Medalists for Division 1 soloists include: Madison Bowers, Hollan Borowitz, Allie Graves, Gabby Leon, Evelyn Patterson, Isabelle Robertson, Lily Sewell and Mary Claire Wright.

Additional Solo awards were earned by: Sarah Grace Boudreaux, first place senior solo; Olivia George, second place junior solo.

In the Duet routine competition, Briannah Hall and Elaina Robertson took first place, while Helen Clark Hays and Endsley Norman earned third place.

Trio Award winners included: Olivia George, Leila Kinney and Rylee McDuffie, first place; Evelyn Patterson, Lily Sewell and Mary Claire Wright, second place; and Mallory Hackworth, Briannah Hall and Tatum Haugh, third place.

Getting Started/Comments Policy

Getting started

  1. 1. If you frequently comment on news websites then you may already have a Disqus account. If so, click the "Login" button at the top right of the comment widget and choose whether you'd rather log in with Facebook, Twitter, Google, or a Disqus account.
  2. 2. If you've forgotten your password, Disqus will email you a link that will allow you to create a new one. Easy!
  3. 3. If you're not a member yet, Disqus will go ahead and register you. It's seamless and takes about 10 seconds.
  4. 4. To register, either go through the login process or just click in the box that says "join the discussion," type your comment, and either choose a social media platform to log you in or create a Disqus account with your email address.
  5. 5. If you use Twitter, Facebook or Google to log in, you will need to stay logged into that platform in order to comment. If you create a Disqus account instead, you'll need to remember your Disqus password. Either way, you can change your display name if you'd rather not show off your real name.
  6. 6. Don't be a huge jerk or do anything illegal, and you'll be fine.

Texarkana Gazette Comments Policy

The Texarkana Gazette web sites include interactive areas in which users can express opinions and share ideas and information. We cannot and do not monitor all of the material submitted to the website. Additionally, we do not control, and are not responsible for, content submitted by users. By using the web sites, you may be exposed to content that you may find offensive, indecent, inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise objectionable. You agree that you must evaluate, and bear all risks associated with, the use of the Gazette web sites and any content on the Gazette web sites, including, but not limited to, whether you should rely on such content. Notwithstanding the foregoing, you acknowledge that we shall have the right (but not the obligation) to review any content that you have submitted to the Gazette, and to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content that we determine, in our sole discretion, (a) does not comply with the terms and conditions of this agreement; (b) might violate any law, infringe upon the rights of third parties, or subject us to liability for any reason; or (c) might adversely affect our public image, reputation or goodwill. Moreover, we reserve the right to reject, delete, disable, or remove any content at any time, for the reasons set forth above, for any other reason, or for no reason. If you believe that any content on any of the Gazette web sites infringes upon any copyrights that you own, please contact us pursuant to the procedures outlined in the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (Title 17 U.S.C. § 512) at the following address:

Copyright Agent
The Texarkana Gazette
15 Pine Street
Texarkana, TX 75501
Phone: 903-794-3311
Email: webeditor@texarkanagazette.com