Today's Paper Digital FAQ Podcast Latest Stories with Polls Obits HER Classifieds Newsletters Jobs Puzzles Circulars

ELECTION 2022 | Early voting starts Tuesday in sheriff runoff

by From Staff Reports | June 12, 2022 at 10:00 p.m.
Miller County Sheriff's deputies Wayne Easley, left, and Stephen Ward are back on the ballot in a runoff race for sheriff. Early voting starts Tuesday, June 14, 2022. The runoff election is June 21. (Submitted photos)

Early voting begins Tuesday in a runoff election to determine Miller County's chief law enforcement officer.

Voters can cast ballots from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. until Monday, June 20 at the American Legion, 525 E. Broad St., in the sheriff's race between Stephen D. Ward and Wayne Easley. There will be no early voting on Saturday.



CAN'T SEE THE POLL QUESTION? Read the story at


Ward and Easley were the top two vote-getters in May 24 primary election. The sheriff's deputies shared the field with fellow Republican and Chief Deputy Mark Lewis, who received 1,506 votes, or 29% of the 5,034 ballots cast in the sheriff's race.

Sheriff Jackie Runion did not seek reelection.

Ward received 1,901 (38%) votes, and Easley came in second with 1,627 (32%) ballots.

No Democrat is running for sheriff, so the race will be decided in the runoff election Tuesday, June 21.

About 22% of Miller County's approximately 26,000 registered voters went to the polls during the primary, according to the Secretary of State's website. The majority of the ballots cast, or 2,625, were in the Union precinct, which is near the county jail on U.S. Highway 71 going south.

The Secretary of State website reports 457,856 ballots were cast statewide on primary day. That translates to approximately 26% of Arkansas' roughly 1.76 million registered voters.

On runoff day, polls will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Voting locations are --

• Bridging the Gap church, 209 E. 14th St.

• Central Baptist Church, 211 E. 35th St.

• Christ United Methodist Church, 5204 S. Rondo Road,

• Cornerstone Baptist Church, 3900 Union Road

• Hickory Street Baptist Church, 2923 Hickory St.

• Highland Church of Christ, 1705 Highland Ave.

• Legacy Baptist Church, 70 Miller County Road 289

• Pillars & Plants, 1101 Couch

• Rondo United Methodist Church, 2325 N. Rondo Road

• Sugar Hill Methodist Church, 1621 Sugar Hill Road

• Doddridge Community Center, 189 Miller County Road 201, Doddridge

• Garland City Hall, 104 Fifth St., Garland

• Stanley Davis Community Center, 203 E. Redcut Road, Fouke

For more election information, call the Miller County Clerk's office at 870-774-1501 between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday.

Print Headline: ELECTION 2022 | Early voting starts Tuesday in sheriff runoff


Sponsor Content


Recommended for you