Today's Paper Coronavirus Updates Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

The C.E. Palmer Award is the city's most prestigious honor for community service. Established in 1941 and named for the longtime publisher of this newspaper, the honor has been shared by more than 80 local luminaries in the years since. It's always nice to be recognized for some good work or extraordinary effort. But the Palmer Award goes beyond any single accomplishment. Rather, the award comes in recognition of a lifetime of service to Texarkana. This year's winners are Dean and LeCrecia Barry.

The Barrys have long been leaders in making our community a better place to live. Dean Barry has served as board president of the St. Michael Foundation and on the Texarkana College Board of Trustees. LeCrecia Barry was instrumental in founding the Runnin' WJ Ranch and has for many years run a wig ministry for cancer patients who lost their hair due to treatment. In 2013 the couple endowed a scholarship at TC to help students achieve their educational goals.

They are longtime supporters of the United Way of Greater Texarkana. So much so that in 2015, Dean Barry, whose insurance business has been a local staple since 1962, bought naming rights for the Live United Bowl, an NCAA Division II football bowl game played in Texarkana annually since 2013. For the past three years, the game has been known as the Agent Barry Live United Bowl. That generosity ensures the bowl, which benefits the United Way, will be played here for years to come.

To be recognized by one's peers as someone who has contributed to the quality of life in Texarkana for many years is an honor indeed. We congratulate Dean and LeCrecia Barry as he joins the roll, listed below, of those who have helped make our city a better place to work and live.


1941-Robert Maxwell

1942-L.C. Barry

1943-Dr. T.J. Wilbanks

1944-W.B. Simmons

1945-Hal R. Moore Jr.

1946-Herman Wommack

1947-James Alan Whyte

1948-Wilbur Smith

1949-J.R. Crowder

1950-Mrs. A.R. McKinney Jr.

1951-Mrs. T.J. Robison

1952-Mrs. Arthur Temple

1953-Edwin L. Stanley, MD

1954-David Nelson

1955-J.R. Morriss Sr.

1956-J.Q. Mahaffey

1957-J.K. Wadley

1958-H.W. Stillwell

1959-James R. Bryant

1960-E.R. Bondurant

1961-Dr. W.H. Richardson

1962-A.G. Sanderson Jr.

1963-Leon Kuhn

1964-Stuart Wilson

1965-Mannie Stevens

1966-H.R. Wren Sr.

1967-Mrs. A.G. Sanderson Jr.

        J.C. Cabe

1968-Pearson Walsh

1969-William G. Fuller

1970-George Rozzell

1971-B.A. Lemser

1972-Herbert Wren, MD

1973-E.M. Jones Sr.

1974-Josh R. Morriss Jr.

1975-Margaret Stuart Dickey

1976-George W. Thompson, MD

1977-Earl M. Jones Jr.

1978-L.E. Gilliland

1979-John F. Stroud Jr.

1980-David Orr

1981-E.D. Trice

1982-Charles Gardner

1983-Mrs. Christine Nelson

1984-Samuel Shuman

1985-Josephine Beck

        Dr. Carl Nelson

1986-Truman Arnold

1987-Bruce Wilson

1988-Ben & Nancy Sandefur

1989-David Williams

1990-Hayes McClerkin

1991-Martha Morriss

1992-Frederick E. Joyce, MD

1993-Walter C. Barnes, MD

1994-Denzer Burke, DDS

1995-Donald N. Morriss

1996-C.A. Mitchell

        Ann Forehand

1997-Remica Crank Gray

1998-William B. Roberts

1999-Connor Patman

        George Crank

        Florence Crank

2000-Vasco McCoy

2001-William O. Morriss

2002-Fred & Martha Norton

2003-R. Scott & Jane F. Bruner

2004-Judy Kelley Morgan

2005-Dan Haskins

2006-Shirley Finn

2007-Patty Smith

2008-Ruth Ellen Whitt

2009-Joan Carter

2010-Danny Gray

2011-Denis Washington

2012-James Henry Russell

2013-Lucille Cook

2014-Curt Green

2015-Steve & Lisa Ledwell

2016-Fay J. Durrant

2017-Dean and LeCrecia Barry


To Dean and LeCrecia Barry and all C.E. Palmer Award winners past and future, we say thank you for your service and commitment to our community.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.