Today's Paper Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

TEXARKANA, Texas — Texas High will be in a new division next year.

The Tigers, with enrollment at 1,838.5, dropped from a 5A-DI school to a 5A-DII after UIL classification cutoff numbers were released on Tuesday.

Liberty-Eylau with 666 students and Pleasant Grove (724) remain in 4A-DII. Dropping down to join them in is Carthage (842).

Atlanta stays in 3A-DI with 483 enrollment and New Boston remains in 3A-DI with 354.

Hooks (318), Hughes Springs (331) and Redwater (323) each drop from 3A-DI to 3A-DII. DeKalb, with 255 students, along with Paul Pewitt (242) and Queen City (332) are unchanged and stay in 3A-DII.

Linden-Kildare with 211 enrollment stays in 2A-DI, while Maud (134) and James Bowie (164) will remain in 2A-DII.

Non-football schools Avery (91) and Bloomburg (76) stay in 1A.

The biggest school in the state of Texas is Plano West with 5,579.5 enrollment. Ironically, Plano East is second with 5,445.5 students.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.