Today's Paper Coronavirus Updates Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

HOOKS, Texas — New Boston's varsity girls and Paul Pewitt's varsity boys each emerged as champions at the Mo Parker Relays at Hornet Stadium on Thursday.

The Lady Lions totaled 137 points, Waskom was second with 95 and Harleton with 92.

The Brahmas scored 96 points, Harleton placed second with 87 and Hooks third with 83.

Winnsboro won the junior varsity boys contest, Paul Pewitt second and Waskom third.



First-place finishers for New Boston were Chloe Davis (100 hurdles), the 4x400 relay team of Haley McAlexander, Grace Duffer, Careligh Reeves and Amiya Walker along with Jaleigh Rowden (discus).

Davis was second in the high jump, Reeves took second in the long jump, and teammate McAlexander took the silver in the triple jump for the Lady Lions.

The 4x200 relay team of Victoria Burns, Reeves, Romyane McChester and Keondria Ganaway crossed the line in second place. The same team of girls was second in the 4x100.

DeKalb's Emily Barrett won the shot put, followed by teammate Gracie Crain.

Paul Pewitt's 4x200 relay team (Catlyn Randle, Ashawni Cooper, A'Dazha Cooper and Kailyn Jones) were first.

Jazzmine Harvey of Pleasant Grove had the best high jump, while Hooks' Hailey Sutton was best in the pole vault.

Jazmin Hever of Pleasant Grove was first in the 800 meters, and teammate Emma Henard crossed the line first in the 1600 meters.



Dillon Coffey took gold in the 400 meters, gold in the long jump and was second in the 100 meters for Paul Pewitt. Joey Green, Kadrien Johnson, Diontray Hill and Coffey were first in the 4x100 for the Brahmas.

Paul Pewitt's Demarcus Hill was first in the shot put, Kendrell Webster won the discus throw, and Green earned gold in the pole vault.

DeKalb's Ramaj Vaughn had the best high jump, while New Boston's Cameron Smith took first in the triple jump.

The 4x400 team of David Johnson, Devarious Clark, Benji Johnson and TJ Rigsby placed first for Hooks.

First-place finishers from James Bowie were Jay Franco (800 meters), Tyler Crabtree (300 hurdles) and Billy Walker (110 hurdles).

New Boston's Treycen Thomas was the fastest runner in the 100 meters, while DeKalb's Laton Van Slyke won the 1600 meters.

Paul Pewitt's A'myree Johnson was first in the junior varsity boys 200 meters, while teammate D'ante Parker snagged gold in the 110 hurdles.

Tavion Brown, Johnson, Tyronne Cobbins and Torrie Bunton were first in the 4x100 relay for the Brahmas. Brown had the best long jump, and Johnson was first in the triple jump.

New Boston's Kaden Hall won the high jump, and Paul Pewitt's Ryder Gibson had the best pole vault.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.