Today's Paper Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

MOUNT PLEASANT, Texas — A mountain had to be climbed, but the terrain proved too treacherous.

Prairiland, ranked No. 12 in the state of Texas, swept Atlanta, 25-7, 25-7, 25-16, in a Class 3A bi-district playoff volleyball match at Willie Williams Gym on Monday.

The third set was the most competitive and featured seven ties at 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11 and 12-all.

Tianna Lawson sent a kill down the left baseline for Atlanta to give teammate Caitlin Morris the serve down 9-7.

Keyona Easter hit a tip that went for a winner and then made a block on the next volley to tie the set up at 9-9. The Lady Patriots had two unforced errors, and the Lady Rabbs took an 11-9 lead.

Prairiland's Trynity Chapman had five straight service points to put the contest further out of reach, 23-15. A Lawson kill gave Atlanta the serve back, but the Lady Rabbs never recovered.

Prairiland built a 9-0 lead in the first behind the eight serves of Audrey Gray. Atlanta committed four unforced errors during the rally.

The Lady Rabbs got their first point on a Patriot hitting error, and Lawson's kill gave Atlanta the serve back at 10-2.

The rest of the Lady Rabbs' points came on unforced errors, and the Patriots rolled on to win the first set handedly.

Atlanta tied up the second set five different times at 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5-all. But after getting the serve back at 6-5, T.J. Folse took serve and smacked in seven straight to make it 13-5.

Madison Clark stepped up to the service line with Prairiland up, 14-6, and served in five. The Lady Rabbs had four unforced errors during the rally, and the Patriots had a 19-6 edge.

Prairiland closed out the second set with six consecutive points.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.