Today's Paper Digital FAQ Coronavirus Updates Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

TEXARKANA, Texas — Pleasant Grove begins its baseball playoff journey today against Lindale in Game 1 of a Class 4A, bi-district, best-of-three series.

The Hawks (23-6) are the No. 2 seed from District 15-4A, while the Eagles (12-15) are the third seed coming out of District 16-4A. The two teams clash today at Hawk Field at 6 p.m. in Game 1.

Game 2 will be played at Lindale High School at 6 p.m. on Friday with a Game 3, if needed, to be played after Game 2.

"We are going to have to pitch well," Pleasant Grove head coach Riley Fincher said. "We are going to have to play good defense, and we will have to take advantage of every opportunity offensively. We will have to do everything that we can to limit the number of runs that they get."

Typically starting for the Hawks are center fielder Brock Bearden, right fielder Alex Galvan, second baseman Brenton Clark, shortstop JM Long, third baseman Alex Murphy, first baseman Tucker Anderson, catcher Cason Head and left fielder Hayden Koller.

Pleasant Grove pitchers include Galvan, Anderson, Carson Rhodes, Blake Jennings, Reid Bingham, Nathan Hutcheson, Coe Blain, Aiden Murray and Hudson Twisdale.

Rounding out the Hawks' roster are Josh Brown, McCauley Langford and Jaden Parker.

"Our guys are excited to play," Fincher said. "They are excited to play at home. They are excited to represent their school and community, and they want to keep playing as long as possible.

"Lindale traditionally has a good team, and they are well coached. The district that they play in is a real tough district, and they have been competitive. We expect a really good series."

The winner of the bi-district series will take on either Canton (24-4), the No. 1 seed out of District 14-4A, or Farmersville (17-10-1), the No. 4 seed from District 13-3A, in the area round next week.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.