Today's Paper Coronavirus Updates Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

Gov. Greg Abbott has reappointed Zackary "Zack" Smith and Stephen Thornhill and appointed Mary Lou Bradley to the Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors.

Their terms are set to expire on August 11, 2025.

He also appointed Jerry Dan Davis for a term set to expire on August 11, 2023 and named Todd Boykin president of the board.

The Red River Authority provides for the control, conservation and development of the watershed and water of the Red River and its Texas tributaries. The Red River runs along the northern edge of Bowie County and Red River Counties in Northeast Texas, and is the border between Texas and Oklahoma in these counties.

Navigation of the Red River north from Shreveport, Louisiana, and then west along this route has been a dream of local and regional planners who see barge traffic as an economic driver in the future.

Here is some background on the new appointees:

Zackary "Zack" Smith of Canyon is general manager of Rabern. He has a bachelor's degree in agriculture development from West Texas A&M University.

Stephen Thornhill of Denison is a financial adviser with the Schweizer-Thornhill Wealth Management Group and is president of Thornhill Oil & Gas, Inc.He has a bachelor's degree in geology and environmental studies and a master's degree in geology from Baylor University.

Mary Lou Bradley of Childress is president of Bradley 3 Management Corporation. She received a bachelor's degree of business administration in aacounting from Midwestern State University.

Jerry Dan Davis of Wellington owns and operates a farm and ranch in Collingsworth, Childress and Hall counties. He has a bachelor's degree in general agriculture from West Texas A&M University.

Todd Boykin of Amarillo is a partner in the law firm of Burdett Morgan Williamson & Boykin, LLP. He has a bachelor's degree from Texas Tech University and a law degree from Baylor University School of Law.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.