Today's Paper Election 2020 Coronavirus Updates Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars
story.lead_photo.caption Ron Humphrey

For the first time in more than 20 years, New Boston will soon have a new mayor: Ron Humphrey.

Humphrey won the post in a three-way race where he garnered 880 votes compared with Joe Dike's 658 votes and Donald Evans showing a distant third of 175 votes, according to complete but unofficial results. "We are just pleased with the voter turnout and pleased the people of New Boston saw fit to have me to serve as their mayor," Humphrey, a retired postal worker and pastor, told the Gazette Wednesday afternoon. He is expected to take office at a council meeting later this month.

Earlier this year, Johnny Branson resigned from the city's top elected post after serving as mayor for more than two decades.

Dike, a former, longtime City Council member, said his wife was elated and he was happy with the results in the mayoral race.

"Congratulations to all the winners," he said. "Let's roll up our sleeves and work together."

Evans said he wished Humphrey good luck.

During the campaign, Humphrey said his top priorities would be to help the city's residents feel safe and secure as well as ensuring the police and fire departments have the resources needed to protect and serve the community.

He said another priority is encouraging the city's public works department to maintain streets and water and sewer systems. The cleanliness of downtown and the city's neighborhoods is also important to Humphrey.

In the city's other election results: Sue Anderson handily won the Place 2 City Council position with 1,162 votes over Bill Eggenburger's 530 votes, according to complete but unofficial results.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.