Today's Paper Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars
story.lead_photo.caption From left, Austin Johnston, Logan Crawford, Zack Rhinehart and Allen Westbrook compose the University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana Iron Horse Shooting Team. (Submitted photo)


University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana Iron Horse Shooting Team took first place at the Texarkana USA Chamber of Commerce Sporting Clay Classic at Rocky Creek Outdoors on April 27.

Austin Johnston from the Iron Horse Shooting Team earned the top overall shooter award with an 86/100 score.

"This was a great event, and the team had a lot of fun," UAHT Coach Eddy Anders said. "Our guys competed well, and we are proud to be the champions of this classic."


Southern Arkansas University honored housing staff and residential leaders at the university's 37th Annual Residence Hall Association Honors & Awards Banquet on April 11.

Student leaders from this area include the following:

Evelyn Escamilla of De Queen, Ark., was presented with the Spirit of RHA Award. Escamill is a junior Middle School Education: STEM major. Award winners are selected based on selflessness, determination, persistence, a desire succeed, a positive attitude and a willingness to help RHA succeed.

Jabrea Walker, a sophomore Biology: Pre-Health major from Foreman, Ark., was presented with the Desk Assistant of the Year Award for Bussey Hall.

Robin Cooper, a freshman Political Science major from Wake Village, Texas, was presented with the Female Outstanding Freshman of the Year.

Sha'Daveya McPherson, a junior Athletic Training major from Hope, Ark., was presented with the Team Member of the Year for Bussey Hall.

Sorkeiss White, a senior Game, Animation, and Simulation Design major from Hope, Ark., was presented with the Team Member of the Year for Greene Hall.

Robert Martin, a junior Business Administration: Management major from Texarkana, was presented with the Team Member of the Year for Magnolia Hall.

Mason McCuller, a junior Business Administration: Financial-Planning major from New Boston, Texas, was presented with the RHA Achievement Award and Team Member of the Year for University Hall. The RHA Achievement Award is the highest honor given by RHA and recognizes one individual who has excelled in every area of university housing life.



Steven Jacob of Wake Village, Texas, was named to Austin College's Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha Chi and Sigma Delta Pi honor societies. Jacob is a graduate of the Academy of Mathematics and Science.



Arkansas High School juniors Mica Chesshir, Patrick Cook and Madison Stanley are among 44 Arkansas students to lend their voice to federal government policies as members of the Congressional Youth Cabinet with U.S. Senator John Boozman.

The Youth Cabinet program is meant to expose students to the legislative process and opportunities for advocacy and civic engagement. The nonpartisan initiative allows students to gain firsthand experience in the democratic process.

Chesshir, Cook and Stanley were members on the fourth congressional district committee and presented their draft of the bill addressing internet sales tax.

"I am proud of these Arkansans for taking a proactive step to learn more about how they can make a difference and be a force for good," Boozman said. "I was pleased to join students from across the state and hear their ideas for legislation on the issues of rural broadband and internet sales taxes."


Students representing Ashdown High School at the FBLA State Leadership Conference are shown. From left, first row: Amy Newton, Chelbi Gathright, Molly Parker, Chris Oglesby, Aliyah Anderson, Isaac Thomas, Jasmine Richard and Taneka Hamilton. Second row: Robin Roy, Carson Hefferies, T. J. Gist, Alexus Hopkins, Kaianna Donato, A'Darrius Hamilton and advisor Shauna Tipton. (Submitted photo)

Fourteen students represented Ashdown High School at the FBLA State Leadership Conference.

Aliyah Anderson placed fourth in Electronic Career Portfolio, and Molly Parker placed third in Introduction to Public Speaking.

Both students will attend the National Leadership Conference this June in Baltimore.

The Introduction to Business Presentation team, which consists of Robin Roy, Chelbi Gathright and Amy Newton, placed in the top six.

T. J. Gist and Alexus Hopkins placed in the top ten of Hospitality Management.



University of Arkansas at Little Rock—Fall 2017

Hope, Ark—Ebony Jordan, Master of Arts

Prescott, Ark.—Alexis Bryant, Bachelor of Applied Science

Texarkana, Ark.—Heather Kroll, Bachelor of Arts; Jarvis Jones, Bachelor of Arts; and Kashandra Murphy, Graduate Certificate.

Wake Village, Texas—Renika Witherspoon, Bachelor of Arts

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.