Today's Paper Coronavirus Updates Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

TEXARKANA, Texas — The annual Four States Invitational Marching Contest will be held from 10:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Saturday at Tiger Stadium at Grim Park. An expected 4,000 students representing 25 schools from the Four States Area will show their unique marching abilities for the attending crowd. Performances will be followed with an awards ceremony at 5:20 p.m.

The contest brings together the musical and marching talents of area bands as they prepare for regional contests. Admission is $5 per adult and $2 per student. The public is invited.

Judges for this year's contest are Robert Hesse, retired band director for the University of Arkansas-Monticello in Monticello, Ark.; David Stuart, Sr., retired band director for Magnolia High School in Magnolia, Ark.; and Dr. Ryan Yahl, assistant director of Bands for Texas A&M University-Commerce in Commerce, Texas.

Percussion judge will be Dr. Oliver Molina, assistant professor of music, assistant director of bands-percussion for Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, La.; and Color Guards will be judged by Alexandra Schoeffel, former member of Cadets Drum & Bugle Corps in Allentown, Pa.

The performance schedule is as follows:

— 10:30 a.m., Pewitt High School

— 10:45 a.m., Hughes Springs High School

— 11 a.m., Genoa Central High School

— 11:15 a.m., Maud High School

— 11:30 a.m., Fouke High School

— 11:45 a.m., Prairiland High School

— 12 p.m., Pleasant Grove High School

— 12:15 p.m., Cooper Junior/Senior High School

— 12:30 p.m., BREAK

— 12:45 p.m., DeKalb High School

— 1 p.m. ,Ashdown High School

— 1:15 p.m., Hooks High School

— 1:30 p.m., Jefferson High School

— 1:45 p.m., Elysian Fields High School

— 2 p.m., Chisum High School

— 2:15 p.m., Clarksville Middle/High School

— 2:30 p.m., C.E. Byrd High School

— 2:45 p.m., BREAK

— 3 p.m., Redwater High School

— 3:15 p.m., New Boston High School

— 3:30 p.m., Atlanta High School

— 3:45 p.m., Heber Sprngs High School

— 4 p.m., Liberty Eylau High School

— 4:15 p.m. Bullard High School

— 4:30 p.m. Benton High School

— 4:45 p.m. Arkansas High School

— 5 p.m. Texas High School

— 5:20 p.m., awards ceremony

— From Texarkana Independent

School District

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.