Today's Paper Digital FAQ Coronavirus Updates Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars
story.lead_photo.caption Team Tiger Sharks, from left, Maddox Gomez, Haatib Fayyaz, Olivia Catamin and Lizzy Lagrone. Photo by Submitted to the Texarkana Gazette / Texarkana Gazette.

TEXARKANA, Texas — During the recent Texas Computer Education Association's Virtual Robotics Contest, teams from the Martha and Josh Morriss Mathematics and Engineering Elementary School had an opportunity to show their creativity.

Students became creators, videographers and promoters while still using the engineering design process as they worked through the competition experience for Whirl-bots Motion Commotion.

Participants designed, built and coded their own unique mechanism powered by a robot, recorded all the action, uploaded their video to the virtual platform and then promoted their video to get people to vote.

Gallery: Morriss Elementary Robotics Teams 2021

Winning Teams were:

Team Tiger Sharks — Most Votes award — Olivia Catamin, Haatib Fayyaz, Maddox Gomez and Lizzy LaGrone;

Team Tornado — Great Teamwork award — Rylie Bixler, Garrett Fite, Micah Hammonds and Carley Whatley;

Team Twirl — Enthusiastic award — Mary Ellen Andrus, Tyllie Cain, Cash Durham and Dawson Shaw.

Other participating teams were:

Team Dynamite — Caroline Andrus, Jacob Killian, Tobias Paez and Charlie Pitman;

Team Ocean Breeze — Kate Keller, Gabriel Mills-Hardy, Jeremiah Pitts and Zoey Wilson;

Team Thunderstruck Machines — Tim Bickham, Natalie Debenport, Josh Powell and Sage Stussy.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.