Today's Paper Election 2020 Coronavirus Updates Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

TEXARKANA, Texas — The 2020 All-District baseball team for 15-5A was an all-senior team to honor those players who had their high school careers and final seasons cut short because of COVID-19.

Texas High had seven players who missed the majority of their senior season and all of the district race and playoffs due to the pandemic, which ended up halting the school year and all extra-curricular activities after mid-March.

"These guys were a great group to be around all four years," Tiger head coach John McClure said about his seniors. "I'm really proud of their work ethic both on and off the field. I have no doubt they will be successful in what ever endeavors they choose in the future."

THS' senior class for baseball included Michael Sikorski, Aaron Prince, Conner Allen, Peyton McGuire, John Adams, Noah Crittenden and Trever Worley.

Throughout District 15-5A, there were 57 senior baseball players.

Sulphur Springs had the most of the six member schools with 12 seniors.

For the Wildcats, Jaxon Chaney, Austin Crouse, Jake Davis, Jace Evans, Kolson Hale, Jaden Janway, Reagan Kesting, Brenden Lynn, Alex Medina, Jerrod Ratliff, Will Sims and Aidan Walker made up the senior class.

"This is one of the largest senior classes we have had," Sulphur Springs coach Jerrod Hammack said. "It has been a pleasure to coach these guys and after such a tremendous start, it is a shame that we weren't able to find out how they would do over the course of a full season. They are coachable, good teammates, and will be successful in life at whatever they choose to do."

Greenville and Royse City each had 10 seniors on their respective rosters.

For the Lions, Andrew Claude, Landon Koger, Jose Martinez, Luke Adel, Wyatt Spivey, Tyler Seale, Hadden Swanzy, Stephen Gilmore, Tyson Gray and Tony Cortez were seniors, and for RC the seniors were Brandon Beavers, Jacob Boling, Landon Cagle, Joshua Carrillo, Caden Clay, Samuel Cole, Joshua Hendricks, Benjamin James, Tyson Oliver and Peyton Roberts.

Lindale and Mount Pleasant each had nine seniors.

For the Eagles, Matt Aubuchon, Wyatt Butler, Staton Dudley, Mason Hammonds, Zach Ross, Colton Beeler, Sebastian Coulter, Michael Freeman and Keston Price were seniors. Mount Pleasant's senior class included Noah Bristow, Colby Hunnicutt, Clayton Lawler, Colby Luck, Tyler Luck, Tyler Nelson, Peter Noah, Kaleb Thompson and Tristin Ticer.

"This group of young men were a fun group of guys to coach," MP head coach Drew Conley said. "Not only were they a talented senior class, but they are just good individuals that have had to battle a lot of adversity during their time at Mount Pleasant ISD. We are going to miss them and all they have done for our program. They have left the bar high for perseverance, mental toughness, and their love for the game."

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.