Today's Paper Election 2020 Coronavirus Updates Weather Latest Obits HER Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

DE QUEEN, Ark. — A Sevier County, Arkansas resident has tested positive for COVID-19.

Sevier County was included on a map of Arkansas showing which counties have positive cases. The map is on the website of the Arkansas Department of Health.

The person who tested positive lives in the Horatio, Arkansas area, said Horatio Mayor Rich Dorsey.

"We are taking measures to protect our citizens," Dorsey said in a video posted to social media. "The health and safety of our citizens is our first priority."

Dorsey said Horatio City Hall will be locked, but officials will still do business with the public.

The total number of cases in Arkansas was at 62 Thursday afternoon, according to ADH.

Arkansas State Rep. DeAnn Vaughn posted on her Facebook page early Thursday that Sevier County has a positive case of COVID-19,

"Sevier County does have a positive casethat's all I can tell you at this point," Vaughn said.

The ADH website is being updated several times a day, said Danyelle McNeill, public information officer for the ADH.

McNeill said she could not comment on cases. She said she is not certain if Sevier County is able to test residents with symptoms or if they had to travel to another county to be tested.

Vaughn urged residents to not panic.

"We knew it was a matter of when and not if," Vaughn posted. "Wash your hands often, practice social distancing and stay home if at all possible."

As of Thursday afternoon, Sevier County was the only county in Southwest Arkansas with a positive case. The other closest county to Southwest Arkansas is Garland County, which has between one and four cases, according to the website.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.